The MindFULL Mentor – Sacred Space

street altar_2We do all that we do for our children, for the loved ones who raise eyes and hearts to us looking for a way, a guide and hope that the world is good and open and free.  Often what we do not realize is that providing this has little to do with what we do and everything to do with what we BE.

You remember the saying, “Don’t do what I do, do what I say.”  HA, like that ever worked for us as kids.  Little gaffers in this world are programmed for imitation, whether we like it or not.  Often our children bring to light the very things we wish beyond wish would stay lurking in the shadows.  And we know, that what is dusty, awkward, feared and abhorred are the very things that will rear their heads in the ugly, raw moments and leave us wondering how we can ever be the parent that we long to be.

We also know that when we are in ideal space of heart, head and body, well slept, stress-free and centered that the beauty of our true nature shines through.  We handle kafuffles with ease, arguments with calm and intuitively know just what to say to avert disasters and how to heal any wound with pure and limitless love.

But how, oh how, do we find a way to switch from the Auto-Pilot that serves us not, to the conscious, engaged us that is almighty and wise beyond our wildest understanding?

Ready for the BIG SECRET?

We get STILL.20130406-102904.jpg

Yep, many of you know this.  In fact, I think deep down we ALL Know This, but Doing it or rather BEing it, is quite a different matter.

Empowering people to consider and live from a place of center is kinda what I do for a living, at home, within corporate and non-profit teams and with my exec biz clients.  I have actually had people approach me at events and say, “Okay, tell me something in 3 mins or less that will help me be more centered and live my YES! life, Jennifer.”

You might imagine, while I keep my outer composure, I am suddenly all too aware of the instant-gratification, indulgent world we live in.  I breathe and do hope I answer with grace as I say, …

“I would love to do that for you.  But (I smile), it took me 35 years to learn that and I wouldn’t want to rob you of the experience that makes it all mean something.  My advice, good old fashion discipline.  Spend time with you, the real you, in quiet and stillness, everyday.  After some time, be it short or long, I promise you will never have to ask anyone that question ever again.”

Yes, they are stunned a little, but a part of them is relieved.  I think because deep down we all know that anything worth having is worth working for.

And so, this little series I’ll have running over the next while The MindFULL Mentor, I hope with inspire, delight and give you some valuable tools to put in your YES!-Life Bag for use for a lifetime of Wonder and WoW.

The first little tidbit I’ll offer, that I will expand on over the week, is …

Sacred Space.

To get mindful, we need a space to call our own, that enables us, almost instantly, to draw a deep and wonderful In-Breath of Awe and Calm.  This can be a small space.  It can be a whole room.  Whatever calls to you.

I’m not going to give you the full ‘How To’ tonight, for this post is long enough… but the task for today is to, Consider Your Space.

Do you have a place that you can call ‘Sacred’ or ‘Calming’ or a spot for centering?  What would it take to create one?  Start looking around your home, your office, heck your car, with new eyes.  It matters not where this spot is, but that you have one that stirs a sense of peace within you.

InJoy the journey of reflection and in the next couple of days I will share some ideas on how to re-create your space or enhance the one you have.

As always, I would love your thoughts on what flows and works for you.
We are more for sharing the journey.

Happy Space Reflection MindFULL Mentor! 🙂

jenni

2 thoughts on “The MindFULL Mentor – Sacred Space

  1. My calming space is outdoors. We live in a small structure with a huge “yard”. So I find it easiest to get centered in the fresh, quiet air among the trees.
    I’m looking forward to reading more from you on mindfulness. 🙂

    • Love this Donna. I so agree. Something about the quiet swaying of the trees draws one right into calm. Ahhhh, can go there instantly in my mind. Thank you for this. Yes, look forward to your thoughts as we flow forward 🙂 j

Leave a comment