In Search of Curriculum for Leaders

Some of our LifeSchoolers ~ those diligently post-checking this blog daily (I encouragingly tell myself:) ~ are parents looking for support and inspiration, mentors looking for empowerment and some are teachers and leaders in the realm of the everyday.  For this reason, while this segment of LifeSchool Inc. will focus on providing insight and a few resources for those teaching at home or supporting their learner in the class, I promise no seeker will be ignored.  I want all to feeeeel the love and be intrigued and inspired as well to consider education, adventure, leadership and the child-within as the greater whole that it is, so that you may enter your days with new-found wit, considerations and joy!

We ALL want to be Leaders, raise Leaders,
encourage Leadership within ourselves
and in the World,
don’t we?

But of course WE DO!

“Leaders are not, as we are often led to think, people who go along with huge crowds following them. Leaders are people who go their own way without caring, or even looking to see, whether anyone is following them. “Leadership qualities” are not the qualities that enable people to attract followers, but those that enable them to do without them. They include, at the very least, courage, endurance, patience, humor, flexibility, resourcefulness, stubbornness, a keen sense of reality, and the ability to keep a cool and clear head, even when things are going badly. True leaders, in short, do not make people into followers, but into other leaders.”
John Holt, Teach Your Own: The John Holt Book Of Homeschooling

Those who would discover this blog, seek out blogs on education, leadership and positive growth, want nothing short of YES! lives, for ourselves and for those around us.
We will be exceptional and leave a legacy in this life to the extent that we “do not make people into followers, but into other leaders.”

That is what I strive to do within this blog, within all the works of Project YES! Life and particularly in the workings of my home as a LifeSchool Leader for my children.  I strive to cultivate their ability to SEE outside the box (even the one I unconsciously put them in before shaking my head to wake).  I like it when they push me, when they test me (okay I’m not always gracious in the moment, but I am grateful always).  I don’t want a child who bows down and sweetly complies to every request (although once in a while is nice).  I want a feisty, questioning, limit-expanding, evolving, confident, curious child who I can then, hopefully empower to trust in self and inner wisdom, speak with respect to captivate a listening audience, and to lead in a way that can even transform the most ardent followers to find the leader within themselves.

There are brilliant school teachers in the world, dedicated educators beyond compare, but I am not completely sure I’ll get those brilliant ones year after year after year.  And while my children would learn and grow through the good, the bad and the ugly with my by their sides to talk it all through, I just want to give MORE if I can.  And luckily, intentionally we’ve created a life where I can.

“There is no school equal to a decent home and no teacher equal to a virtuous parent.”
Mahatma Gandhi

This LifeSchool thing is for everyone, but LifeSchool Inc., the decision and commitment to remain in the home to educate those feisty, testing kidlets, is not.  I honour where each and every person stands.  We know and must honour our own callings of heart.

For me it is right here, for now.  Over the next days I will share a little of what has helped and inspired me along the way.  I hope it will inspire you and that you too will share what has ignited you.

Til tomorrow when we explore Soulful Curriculum for Leaders… Happy Inner-Leadership Pondering,
jenni

Leave a Reply

